▲ top

  The Cape Fear Chapter MOAA : The Cape Fear Chapter Military Officers Association of America (MOAA) Photo Gallery: The Cape Fear Chapter Image Collection

Photos and slideshows
1683510226 / 0/


May 5, 2023

This event took place at the Mash House Restaurant and Brewery in Fayetteville, NC.

This annual ROTC Scholarship Awards Luncheon marked the 25th anniversary of the Cape Fear Chapter’s ROTC Scholarship Program. Since its inception in 1998, the Chapter has awarded a total of $192,000 in ROTC scholarships.

The meeting was convened by President Underwood who led the assembly in the Pledge of Allegiance to the Flag. Chaplain Williamson delivered the invocation.

MG Brian J. Mennes was the guest speaker and his address to the scholarship recipients centered on the meaning and significance of the oath of commissioning and the importance of leadership at the junior level. He stressed the basic leadership principle of taking care of soldiers and their families.

The main event on the agenda was the presentation of six scholarship awards as follows:

Cadet Brian J. Kruse, Army ROTC, University of North Carolina-Pembroke was the winner of the Meinhardt ROTC Scholarship valued at $2,000; Cadet Marcus J. Battle, Air Force ROTC, Fayetteville State University was awarded the Charles Pimble Honorary Scholarship valued at $1,500; and Cadet Edward Marteli, Army ROTC, Campbell University was awarded a Cape Fear Chapter ROTC Scholarships valued at $1,500.

Scholarship awards to JROTC cadets were as follows:

Cadet Leslea C. Helm, Army JROTC, Hoke County High School, was the winner of the Bill Dadek Memorial Scholarship valued at $2,000. Two Cape Fear Chapter JROTC Scholarships valued at $1,500 each were awarded to Cadet Patrick A. McBride, Army JROTC, Lumberton Senior High School; and Cadet Muhammadali I. Rojabi, Air Force JROTC, Terry Sanford High School.

Taking part in the presentation of scholarships to the ROTC cadets included: Chapter President Richard Underwood; MG Brian J. Mennes; and Dr. Charles Pimble who presented the Charles Pimble Honorary Scholarship.

Scholarship recipients were accompanied by parents, family members, and ROTC cadre too numerous to list here.

The 50/50 raffle was won by Tim Peedin who donated his winnings to the chapter’s scholarship fund.