▲ top

  The Cape Fear Chapter MOAA : The Cape Fear Chapter Military Officers Association of America (MOAA) Photo Gallery: The Cape Fear Chapter Image Collection

Photos and slideshows
1609896415 / 0/

Installation of New Officers

January 5, 2021

Outgoing President Ira Watkins administers the oath of office to the newly elected officers at the Sink Room, Iron Mike Conference and Catering Center.

Because of COVID-19 safety constraints limiting public gatherings to 10 people or less, the installation ceremony was held during the monthly Board of Directors meeting in lieu of the traditional installation dinner affair attended by the general membership.

Officers taking the oath of office for the 2-year term commencing January 2021 are: President Rich Underwood, 1st Vice President George Bond, 3rd Vice President Marty Williams and Treasurer Ralph Hinrichs. The positions of 2nd Vice President and Secretary remain vacant due to lack of candidates to replace the outgoing incumbents.

Following administration of the oath of office, outgoing President Watkins passed the gavel to incoming President Underwood and each pinned the other with lapel buttons signifying present and past Chapter President.

Closing the ceremony, President Underwood presented Past President Watkins with a MOAA Leadership Award recognizing his stellar leadership as chapter president for two years, half of his tenure being plagued by the coronavirus pandemic.

Additionally, the BOD meeting agenda included the pinning of 5-star medallions on the chapter colors representing a MOAA 5-star Level of Excellence Award for 2019, and two MOAA 5-star COL Marvin Harris Communications Awards (website and electronic newsletter) also for 2019.