▲ top

  The Cape Fear Chapter MOAA : The Cape Fear Chapter Military Officers Association of America (MOAA) Photo Gallery: The Cape Fear Chapter Image Collection

Photos and slideshows
1552960510 / 0/

Annual Awards and Recognition Luncheon at McKellar's Lodge

March 16, 2019

President Watkins introduced James Pugsley, Ken Wical, and John Chandler all officers of the National Sojourners who accepted a $600 donation from our chapter. James recited the “Toast to the Flag” as part of the program.

Following lunch, President Watkins presented the “State of the Chapter” report covering CY 2018. A copy of this report is posted in the “Document” section of this website.

The main theme of the event, however, was recognition of chapter members for their significant service and/or contributions to the chapter.

MOAA Leadership Awards were presented to Dennis Franken, Ralph Hinrichs, Tim Atkinson, and Carol Ivey for their distinguished service while serving in key leadership positions; a MOAA Certificates of Appreciation, a MOAA coin and a bouquet of flowers were presented to Maria Chavez for supporting her husband for six years while serving as Chapter President; and, chapter coins were presented to Bob White and Lester Beery for making a difference through their contributions and participation.

The immediate past president, Juan Chavez, was presented with the MOAA President’s Award for his service as Cape Fear Chapter President from 2013-2018.

Finally, the 2018 Robert F. DeMeter Chapter Service Award was presented to Carol Ivey for outstanding service to the chapter in her capacity as Surviving Spouse Liaison Officer for the past 6 years. Carol made chapter history by being the first female surviving spouse ever to receive a MOAA Leadership Award as well as the DeMeter Service Award.